top of page

Where I'll Be Going to College!

A large part of my decision came from one of the school's programs, which entails a fascinating mix of philosophy, history, literature, and political thought— all subjects that hold an important place in this blog!

I'm excited to say that I'll be attending Yale University starting in the fall of 2025! When I was exploring different college options, I was looking for a liberal arts institution with a specialized program in the humanities that also values community life. Yale has an opportunity for first-year students to pursue a Directed Studies program, where I will be reading a few books and writing a paper every week for a grand total of around 60 literary works. Along the way, I'll get closer to other scholars interested in my field of study while developing my philosophical thoughts and writing abilities. This program is truly unique compared to those which are offered to other schools, and it definitely drew me towards Yale.

In addition, to fulfill the community life side of my desires for college, Yale has a residential college system that seems incredibly valuable and conducive to thoughtful dialogue between students and teachers with different interests. Members of the community are divided into these smaller colleges which each have their unique elements (and thus encourage you to make friends with people in other colleges if you want to experience something that yours doesn't have!) and create connections between faculty and a diverse array of students. A rising junior told me how the residential college system is like a bedrock for students to start with before immersing themselves in the complex, sometimes overwhelming nature of such a large college.

While I'm still not completely sure of my major, my top choice right now would be Humanities, but I've read so many stories from students who say that their preference changes quickly when they enter college. I'm totally flexible, but I'll make sure to keep that literary base which has defined this blog and my writing experience so far!

Thank you all for your support and readership along the way and I'll continue to share how things go in college. Maybe I'll look back at this post in a few years and be able to compare it to my experience at Yale!


4/8/21

bottom of page